• These schools delayed dismissal for the solar eclipse


    ATLANTA - UPDATE: The Total Solar Eclipse passed through the United States for the first time in 99 years -- and it was spectacular! We will have LIVE coverage of the eclipse across the southeast on Channel 2 Action News.


    Several school districts delayed dismissal for Monday's solar eclipse.

    Severe Weather Team 2 Chief Meteorologist Glenn Burns says the total solar eclipse started near Lincoln City, Oregon, around 10:15 a.m. PDT.

    It traveled across the country, ending around 2:50 p.m. EDT near Charleston, South Carolina.

    WSB-TV is your home for everything Total Solar Eclipse. We have exclusive content and everything you need to know for the big day!

    Then, when the Total Solar Eclipse crosses through the United States, make sure you’re relying on Channel 2 Action News for complete LIVE coverage from across the country!

    Be sure to LIKE us on Facebook, FOLLOW us on Twitter and download the free WSB-TV news app to receive our latest content!

    A partial eclipse will be visible before and after those times, and luckily for us, parts of the Channel 2 Action News viewing area will see the show!

    Here are the schools that delayed dismissal the day of the eclipse:

    ATLANTA PUBLIC SCHOOLS - 30-minute delay for all schools

    BARTOW COUNTY - Elementary school students dismissed at 3:05 p.m.

    CARROLL COUNTY - 40-minute delay for all schools

    CLARKE COUNTY - 45-minute delay for all schools

    CLAYTON COUNTY- 45-minute delay for all schools

    COBB COUNTY - 45-minute delay for all schools

    DEKALB COUNTY - One-hour delay for all schools

    FAYETTE COUNTY - One-hour delay (Elementary: 3:25 p.m., Middle: 4:10 p.m., High: 4:45 p.m.)

    FORSYTH COUNTY - 40-minute delay (ES I: 3:00 p.m., ES II: 3:40 p.m., High: 4:20 p.m., Middle: 4:55 p.m.)

    • ES I: Big Creek, Brandywine, Brookwood, Chattahoochee, Chestatee, Coal Mountain, Cumming, Haw Creek, Kelly Mill, Matt, Settles Bridge, Sharon, Shiloh Point and Vickery Creek
    • ES II: Daves Creek, Johns Creek, Mashburn, Midway, Sawnee, Silver City and Whitlow

    FULTON COUNTY - Delaying dismissal for students by 45 minutes.


    GWINNETT COUNTY - One-hour delay

    GRIFFIN-SPALDING - Delayed by 1 hour, 10 minutes

    HALL COUNTY SCHOOLS- One-hour delay

    HENRY COUNTY - One-hour delay (Elementary: 3:25 p.m., High: 4:15 p.m., Middle: 4:55 p.m.)

    MARIETTA CITY SCHOOLS - 15-minute delay

    PAULDING COUNTY - One-hour delay  (Elementary: 3:30 p.m., High: 4:25 p.m., Middle: 4:35 p.m.) 

    ROCKDALE COUNTY - Elementary: 3:00 p.m., High: 3:45 p.m., Middle: 4:30 p.m.

    TROUP COUNTY - 30-minute delay for all schools

    This list will be updated as more schools announce schedule changes.

    Next Up: