KSU football suspended for season, officials say

KENNESAW, Ga. — The Big South Conference, which includes Kennesaw State University, has postponed fall sports.

Officials said they intend to return in the spring.

All sports including men's and women's cross country, football, men's and women's soccer are canceled as well as fall competition in men's and women's golf, tennis and out of season competitions for spring sports.

[RELATED: SEC football will play 10-game conference schedule this fall]

“We are all broken-hearted that we will not be able to provide competitive opportunities for Big South student-athletes this fall,” Commissioner Kyle Kallander said. “However, the path forward must protect the health and safety of our student-athletes, and some of the current trends and unknowns with COVID-19 have made that a huge challenge. Our intention is to shift these fall seasons to the spring as we would like nothing more than to crown Big South champions in all 19 of our sports this year.”

KSU Athletics Director Milton Overstreet also issued a statement.

"While we are disappointed our student-athletes will not have a chance to compete for a championship this fall, we remain committed to working with the Big South Conference and non-conference partners to build an exciting spring football schedule for our players, fans and Kennesaw State student body. Our football program now has a clear path forward and we will keep our options open in the fall while always making the health and safety of our student-athletes our number one priority. A decision from the ASUN regarding competition for our remaining athletic programs is forthcoming. Our ticket department will be in touch with football season ticket holders in the coming days to talk about options moving forward."

Big South members include KSU, as well as North Carolina universities Campbell, Garner-Webb, High Point and UNC Asheville; South Carolina schools Charleston Southern, USC Upstate, Winthrop and Presbyterian; Virginia schools Hampton, Longwood and Radford universities, University of North Alabama University and Monmouth University in New Jersey.