Taylor Swift releases rerecorded ‘Fearless’ album

Taylor Swift is back with another new album – sort of.

>> Read more trending news

“Fearless (Taylor’s Version),” a re-creation of 2008′s “Fearless,” dropped early Friday, much to fans’ delight.

“It was the night things changed,” Swift tweeted shortly after midnight Friday. “‘Fearless (Taylor’s Version)’ is out now.”

Swift, now 31, has been involved in a dispute with record executive Scooter Braun, whose Ithaca Holdings acquired the record label of her first six albums, Big Machine, in 2019, according to The Associated Press. Swift said Braun then sold the rights to those albums without giving her the opportunity to purchase her masters, the AP reported. She plans to re-record all of the albums involved, the news agency reported.

There are some big differences between “Fearless (Taylor’s Version)” and the original album. The new release features 26 tracks, twice as many as the 2008 album, as well as a bonus track, Swift revealed in a social media post last week. Six are “Fearless”-era songs that didn’t make the cut for the original record, she said.

The rerecorded album is now available via major streaming services and music sellers.

Read more here.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.