One reason Falcons fans shouldn't want Matt Ryan to win MVP

Matt Ryan #2 of the Atlanta Falcons runs out on the field prior to the game against the Cleveland Browns at Georgia Dome on November 23, 2014 in Atlanta, Georgia. 

ATLANTA — Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan can cap the best season of his NFL career with a Super Bowl win Sunday against the New England Patriots. Standing in his way may be Saturday night’s MVP award.

Ryan is considered the likely front-runner.

One caveat: Since 2000, no NFL MVP has won the Super Bowl.

Channel 2 Action News will have special Atlanta Falcons coverage LIVE from Houston every weeknight at 6:30 p.m. 

CLICK HERE for more Super Bowl content from WSB-TV -- and be sure to follow Channel 2 Sports Director Zach Klein on Twitter and LIKE his official Facebook page for all the latest news from Super Bowl LI!

Starting in 2000, the MVP winner was announced before the playoffs. Since then, only seven MVPs have made it to the Super Bowl. After the MVP announcement was moved to the night before the Super Bowl in 2011, only two -- Peyton Manning and Cam Newton -- played in the big game, both lost.

Even Tom Brady’s two MVPs -- 2007 and 2010 -- were followed by Super Bowl losses.


Other MVPs who lost in the Super Bowl include, Kurt Warner (Rams, 2001); Rich Gannon (Raiders, 2002); Shaun Alexander (Seahawks, 2005); and Manning (Broncos, 2013).

Before 2000, 10 players won the MVP and Super Bowl.

Those winners included, Kurt Warner (Rams, 1999), Terrell Davis (Broncos, 1998), Emmitt Smith (Cowboys, 1993) Steve Young (49ers, 1994), and Brett Favre (Packers, 1996).