University of Georgia

Herschel Walker named No. 2 greatest player of all-time on CFB 150 list

In honor of college football’s 150th anniversary, ESPN and the College Football Playoff have been counting down the 150 greatest football players of all time.

On Monday, the network unveiled the top 10 on the list and Georgia fans will be happy with a Bulldogs legend named to it.

Georgia running back Herschel Walker was named the second-greatest player of all time, a spot just behind Syracuse running back Jim Brown.

The final players were unveiled at halftime during the College Football Playoff championship.

Walker helped the Dawgs win the 1980 National Championship, and the team finished with a 33-3 record during his three seasons in Athens.

The running back set numerous records in his collegiate career, including 41 school records, 16 SEC records and 11 NCAA records. Walker took home the 1982 Heisman Trophy.

Walker finished his UGA career with 52 touchdowns, 5,259 rushing yards and averaged 159.4 rushing yards per game. Walker took home the 1982 Heisman Trophy in his final season.

Top 10 players (Click here to see the full list)

  1. Jim Brown, Syracuse (1954-56)
  2. Herschel Walker, Georgia (1980-82)
  3. Bo Jackson, Auburn (1982-85)
  4. Archie Griffin, Ohio State (1972-75)
  5. Jim Thorpe, B, Carlisle (1907-12)
  6. Red Grange, Illinois (1923-25)
  7. Earl Campbell, Texas (1974-77)
  8. Dick Butkus, Illinois (1962-64)
  9. Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State (1986-88)
  10. Gale Sayers, Kansas (1962-64).

Georgia college players on the list:

  • Herschel Walker, UGA, No. 2
  • Adrian Petersen, Georgia Southern, No. 84
  • Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech No. 124
  • Champ Bailey, UGA, No. 149