Live RESULTS: Kemp wins Republican nomination for governor, ABC News projects

ATLANTA — Election Day for the 2022 Georgia primaries is officially here and all eyes are once again on the Peach State with marquee races for governor and Congressional seats.

Polls for in-person voting opened at 7 a.m. Tuesday morning. Most polls closed at 7 p.m., however some will stay open.

10:53 p.m.

The Associated Press projects that Marcus Flowers has won the Democratic nomination for U.S House District 14. He will face Republican Marjorie Taylor Greene in November.

10:03 p.m.

The Associated Press projects that Lucy McBath has won the Democratic nomination for House Representative in the 7th District over Carolyn Bordeaux, who is the incumbent. Projections for the Republican candidate have not come in yet.

9:32 p.m.

The Associated Press projects Andrew Clyde wins Republican nomination for U.S. House in Georgia’s 9th Congressional District.

8:51 p.m.

ABC News projects Marjorie Taylor Greene has won the Republican nomination for Georgia Congressional District 14. The Democratic candidate has not been determined yet.

8:27 p.m.

ABC News projects that Brian Kemp has won Republican nomination for Georgia governor in November’s race.

7:52 p.m.

ABC News projects Herschel Walker has won Republican nomination for U.S. Senate in November’s race.

7:42 p.m.

ABC News projects incumbent Senator Raphael Warnock will win the Democratic nomination for November’s race.

7:22 p.m.

ABC News projects Stacey Abrams has officially clinched the Democratic nomination for Governor. She ran unopposed.

6:39 p.m.

Due to a late opening, the DeKalb County McLendon Precinct, located at New Beginning Full Gospel Baptist Church in Decatur, will remain open until 7:40 p.m.

4:19 p.m.

Cobb County says 2 polling locations will remain open after 7 p.m. after experiencing delays earlier in the day.

  • Marietta 5A (Zion Baptist Church) will be open until 7:10 p.m.
  • Marietta 5B (Turner Chapel AME) will be open until 7:13 p.m.

3:30 p.m.

Fulton County is reporting that wait times at all polling places are less than 30 minutes with several hours to go before polls close. Check HERE to see wait times at specific locations.

2:45 p.m.

Georgia is on track to surpass the record for turnout at a midterm primary.

10:15 a.m

Fulton County Elections Board have already announced at least locations will be open late. Hopewell Middle School in Milton and Creel Park in South Fulton precincts will stay open late.

Stay with Channel 2 Action News and WSBTV.com for LIVE election coverage from the moment the polls open to the moment winners are declared.


Those choosing a Republican ballot have arguably the two biggest primary races to decide: the GOP gubernatorial and senatorial candidates.

Former U.S. Senator David Perdue is challenging current Governor Brian Kemp for the Republican nomination to take on presumptive Democratic nominee Stacey Abrams in the November General Election. Other Republican nominees on the ballot include Catherine Davis, Kandiss Taylor and Tom Williams.

Several Republicans are squaring off with one another for the GOP nomination to try and unseat Senator Rev. Raphael Warnock this November. UGA football legend Herschel Walker and Georgia Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black are among those vying for the nomination. Other Republicans appearing on the ballot include former State Representative Josh Clark, Kelvin King, Jon McColumn and Latham Saddler.

[READ MORE: Who’s on the ballot for Tuesday’s primary elections in Georgia?]

Another race to watch is for the Secretary of State’s Office. Incumbent Brad Raffensperger is running on the GOP ticket against U.S. Rep. Jody Hice, former Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle and former probate and magistrate judge T.J. Hudson, who have all criticized Raffensperger’s handling of the 2020 election.

Democratic candidates include State Rep. Bee Nguyen; Floyd Griffin, a state senator and former mayor of the city of Milledgeville; Michael Owens, former Cobb County Democratic Party chairman; John Eaves, former Fulton County Commission chairman; and Dee Dawkins-Haigler, a former state representative from DeKalb County.


On Election Day, you must vote at your designated polling place. Polling places are open on Election Day from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. If you are in line by 7:00 p.m., you are allowed to cast your ballot.

If you plan on voting in-person, you will be required to show a form of ID. If you don’t have an ID or forget to bring it with you, you’ll be given a provisional ballot and will have a short grace period to provide the County Board of Registrars with an ID so your vote can be counted.

If you require special assistance to vote or to access your polling place, contact your County Board of Registrar’s Office for help.

[READ MORE: What you need to bring with you to vote in Georgia]