Cobb County

Metro counties reinstate mask mandates at courthouses due to high COVID-19 transmission rate

COBB COUNTY, Ga. — Cobb and Douglas counties have re-instituted mask mandates inside the county courthouses due to rising levels of COVID-19.

[DOWNLOAD: Free WSB-TV News app for alerts as news breaks]

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, COVID-19 transmission levels are back in the “high” category in Cobb and Douglas counties .


County officials said Chief Judge Rob Leonard has “reluctantly” reinstated the mandate and that the county will review trials and hearings going forward.

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]

Cobb and Douglas are the only two counties in metro Atlanta that are in ranked “high” in transmission levels. DeKalb, Clayton, Forsyth and Gwinnett counties both have low levels of COVID-19 transmission while Fulton, Cherokee, Carroll and Paulding counties are ranked as having “medium” transmission levels.

The county has reported nearly 3,000 new cases of the virus in the last two weeks.