University of Georgia

SEC Champs! No. 1 Georgia claims first conference title since 2017

ATLANTA — The drought is over. For the first time since 2017, the Georgia Bulldogs have won the SEC Championship.

No. 1 Georgia defeated No. 11 LSU Saturday afternoon at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, 50-30. The SEC Championship also secures the top seed in the College Football Playoff for the defending national champs.

[DOWNLOAD: Free WSB-TV News app for alerts as news breaks]

Stetson Bennett finished with 274 yards and a season-high four touchdown passes. The fifth-year senior became the oldest quarterback to win a SEC Championship.

The play of the game though came on the first touchdown of the game when a blocked field goal turned into a 96-yard score.

The playoff committee will reveal UGA’s opponent on Sunday afternoon. But who will the defending champions face?

No. 2 Michigan is playing Purdue in the Big Ten Championship on Saturday night. No. 3 TCU lost in overtime to Kansas State in the Big 12 Championship. No. 4 USC lost in a blowout to Utah in the Pac-12 Championship.

The playoff committee could put TCU, No. 5 Ohio State or No. 6 Alabama up against the Dawgs.

While there are a couple of options for their opponent, Georgia is expected to play its semifinal game in the Peach Bowl.

It would be Georgia’s third game of the season at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Stetson Bennett finished