LIVE RESULTS: Special election underway in city of Mableton, Jonesboro, and Clayton County


It’s your voice and your vote for people in Clayton County and the cities of Mableton and Jonesboro.

The polls are open for a special election for those voters until 7 p.m. Tuesday night.

[DOWNLOAD: Free WSB-TV News app for alerts as news breaks]

In Clayton County, voters will elect a new sheriff after controversial former sheriff Victor Hill was sentenced for federal civil rights violations. Current interim sheriff Levon Allen, Clarence Cox, Terry Evans, Dwayne Fabian and Chris Storey are all running to replace Hill.

Voters will also decide on filling the seat for State House District 75 and a bond referendum for education. Herman “Drew” Andrews (D), Della Ashley (R) and Eric W. Bell II (D) are running to fill the State House District 75 seat left by Mike Glanton. He resigned after 14 years in the Georgia House of Representatives.

In Jonesboro, voters will also have a separate election for their new mayor and two city council seats. Longtime Jonesboro Mayor Joy B. Day resigned last year to spend more time with her family.


Meanwhile, voters in the newly-formed City of Mableton will elect a mayor and six city council members.

The candidates are hoping for a big turnout on Tuesday after early voting turnout was low. Only 2,500 of more than 47,000 registered voters show up to the polls before Tuesday.

Voters approved Mableton’s cityhood in November. However, at a town hall meeting last month some people were upset and didn’t know which neighborhoods are part of the new city.

“All the people who voted yes but didn’t know what the heck they were voting for,” one resident said.

Election officials said you can type in your address on the county’s elections website and it will tell you if you live in the Mableton city limits.

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]