Here’s how Georgia’s representatives voted on President Trump’s impeachment

ATLANTA — President Donald Trump was impeached by the U.S. House for a historic second time Wednesday, charged with “incitement of insurrection” over the deadly mob siege of the Capitol in a swift and stunning collapse of his final days in office.

With the Capitol secured by armed National Guard troops inside and out, the House voted 232-197 to impeach Trump.

[DOWNLOAD: Free WSB-TV News app for alerts as news breaks]

Actual removal seems unlikely before the Jan. 20 inauguration of President-elect Joe Biden. A spokesman for Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell said the Republican leader would not agree to bring the chamber back immediately, all but ensuring a Senate trial could not begin at least until Jan. 19.

Still, McConnell did not rule out voting to convict Trump in the event of a trial. In a note to his fellow Republican senators just before the House was to begin voting, he said he is undecided.

Trump’s first impeachment in 2019 brought no Republican votes in the House. This time 10 Republicans broke rank and voted in favor of impeachment.

Georgia Legislators React

Inside Georgia’s Capitol, it was business as usual with many lawmakers not willing to speak with Channel 2′s Richard Elliot about the impeachment vote.

Veteran Democrat Calvin Smyre said impeachment is the only alternative after what the president did to incite the mob.

“It sends a strong message and I think a strong message is required at this time and moment in our history. The strongest of statements is a requirement,” Smyre said.

Republican Burt Jones is a long-time Trump supporter who signed a letter asking Vice President Pence to delay certifying the election. Jones condemns the attack on the Capitol, but thinks impeachment is not needed.

“January 20th you’re going to have a new administration. I think today is a waste of time,” Jones said.

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]

Here’s how Georgia’s members in Congress voted:

District 1 - Buddy Carter (R) - Nay

District 2 - Sanford Bishop (D) - Yay

District 3 - Drew Ferguson (R) - Nay

District 4 - Hank Johnson (D) - Yay

District 5 - Nikema Williams (D) - Yay

District 6 - Lucy McBath (D) - Yay

District 7 - Carolyn Bourdeaux (D) - Yay

District 8 - Austin Scott (R) - Nay

District 9 - Andrew Clyde (R) - Nay

District 10 - Jody Hice (R) - Nay

District 11 - Barry Loudermilk (R) - Nay

District 12 - Rick Allen (R) - Nay

District 13 - David Scott (D) - Yay

District 14 - Marjorie Taylor Greene (R) - Nay

The Associated Press contributed to this story