Here’s how each Georgia Representative voted as House approved debt ceiling bill

WASHINGTON — On Wednesday night, the House of Representatives passed the debt ceiling bill, avoiding what would have been the first U.S. default.

The bill will now go to the Senate for passage, which is expected by the end of the week, the AP reported, and then it will go to the president for his signature.

[DOWNLOAD: Free WSB-TV News app for alerts as news breaks]

Here’s how each Georgia Rep. voted:

  • Buddy Carter (R): Yes
  • Sanford Bishop (D): Yes
  • Drew Ferguson (R): Yes
  • Hank Johnson (D): Yes
  • Nikema Williams (D): No
  • Rich McCormick (R): No
  • Lucy McBath (D): Yes
  • Austin Scott (R): Yes
  • Andrew Clyde (R): No
  • Mike Collins (R): No
  • Barry Loudermilk (R): Yes
  • Rick W. Allen (R): Yes
  • David Scott (D): Yes
  • Marjorie Taylor Greene (R): Yes

Austin Scott (R) released a statement saying this piece of legislation cuts spending.

“This legislation is far from perfect, but it rescinds $30 billion in previously appropriated funds, making it one of the only pieces of legislation signed into law that actually cuts spending,” Scott said. “This bill will avoid a default and cap spending levels. The permitting reforms in this legislation can bring jobs to America and be revolutionary for manufacturing and mining in our country.”


Lucy McBath (D) also released a statement and said we have a responsibility to maintain the credit of the country.

“We have an enduring responsibility to maintain the full faith and credit of the United States of America,” said McBath. “The hard-working men and women of this country have spent generations building an economy that sits at the center of our world, and we must not risk the sweat of American families or the trust of our allies abroad.”

At first June 1 was believed to be the day that the country would run out of money to pay its debts. That date was then pushed to June 5 by the Treasury, the AP reported.

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]