Atlanta Hawks advance to Eastern Conference Finals for 1st time since 2015

ATLANTA — Believe it, Atlanta! For the first time since 2015, the Atlanta Hawks are heading to the Eastern Conference Finals.

Despite an off night from Trae Young until fourth quarter, the Hawks defeated Joel Embiid and the 76ers in Game 7 Sunday night thanks in part to a career performance by Kevin Huerter.

The Hawks had been 0-9 in Games 7s on the road. Huerter led the Hawks with 27 points.

“This team is special, man,” Huerter said. “Everybody has counted us out all year. For us to make it this far and win in this building in Game 7, it’s huge for us.”

Atlanta now advances to face Giannis Antetokounmpo and the Milwaukee Bucks, who defeated the Brooklyn Nets in overtime Game 7.

It is only the second time the franchise has advanced to a conference final since it moved to Atlanta in 1968.

The Hawks previously advanced to the Eastern Conference finals in 2015 when they got swept by Lebron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers. The Hawks won their only title during their time in St. Louis.

The Eastern Conference Finals is set to begin on Wednesday. Here is the full schedule:

  • Game 1: at Milwaukee, Wednesday, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 2: at Milwaukee, Friday, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 3: in Atlanta, Sunday, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 4: in Atlanta, Tuesday, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 5*: at Milwaukee, Thursday July 1, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 6*: in Atlanta, Saturday July 3, 8:30 p.m.
  • Game 7*: at Milwaukee, Monday July 5, 8:30 p.m.

*If Necessary

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]