• Chubb heads AAAA preseason all-state team

    By: GHSF Daily


    ATLANTA - Nick Chubb, the Cedartown running back who set a regular-season state record with 2,721 rushing yards in 2012, heads the preseason all-state team in Class AAAA. Chubb has committed to Georgia.

    Cole Garvin, the quarterback who led Sandy Creek to a state championship, is one of four members of the team from the defending title-holders. WR Demarre Kitt (committed to Clemson), DL Chris Williams (Ole Miss), junior RB Eric Swinney and LB Khari Lain also made the team.

    The AAAA team required some shuffling and regrettable omissions because of excessive depth at certain positions. Monroe Area QB Stanton Truitt, one of GHSF Daily’s Top 44 players statewide, was beaten out by Garvin and “athlete” Donquell Green, Burke County’s similar dual-threat quarterback.

    Also missing out at quarterback were prolific passers Charles Stafford of Westover and Zach Giddens of LaGrange, each of whom threw for about 3,000 yards last season. Dalton sophomore Kelvis Rhodes, who rushed for more than 1,528 yards as a sophomore, likely will be the leading rusher among players statewide not on a preseason all-state team.

    Kendall Baker, a Georgia-committed lineman from Marist, was placed on offense, his recruited position, instead of his more familiar high school position on defense, which is fraught with other major Division I prospects.

    Also conspicuous on offense is sophomore lineman Ben Cleveland of Stephens County, who has played only one season of high school football but has offers from Georgia to Texas.


    QB – Cole Garvin, Sandy Creek, Sr.

    RB – Kwan Brooks, Monroe Area, Sr.

    RB – Nick Chubb, Cedartown, Sr.

    RB – Eric Swinney, Sandy Creek, Jr.

    WR – Demarre Kitt, Sandy Creek, Sr.

    WR – Krenwick Sanders, Wayne County, Sr.

    TE – Cole Cook, Carrollton, Sr.

    OL – Kendall Baker, Marist, Sr.

    OL – Ben Cleveland, Stephens County, So.

    OL – Lucas Johnson, Cass, Sr.

    OL – Terronne Prescod, Columbia, Sr.

    OL – Jake Sanders, Carrollton, Sr.

    ATH – Donquell Green, Burke County, Sr.

    PK – Tyler Newsome, Carrollton, Sr.


    DL – Jeremy Patterson, Wayne County, Sr.

    DL – Dontavius Russell, Carrollton, Sr.

    DL – Trenton Thompson, Westover, Jr.

    DL – Chris Williams, Sandy Creek, Sr.

    LB – Daryl Dunlap, Troup, Sr.

    LB – Khari Lain, Sandy Creek, Sr.

    LB – Raekwon McMillan, Liberty County, Sr.

    LB – Juwon Young, Albany, Sr.

    DB – Jordan Collier, Stone Mountain, Sr.

    DB – Cortez McDowell, Locust Grove, Sr.

    DB – Akebren Ralls, Mary Persons, Sr.

    DB – Kendarius Webster, Stockbridge, Sr.

    P – Tanner Brumby, Pickens, Sr.

    Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    Chubb heads AAAA preseason all-state team

  • Headline Goes Here

    Georgia high school football state championship scores

  • Headline Goes Here

    North Gwinnett beats Colquitt, wins state title

  • Headline Goes Here

    Rome beats Warner Robins 38-0, wins state title

  • Headline Goes Here

    Blessed Trinity beats region rival Marist, wins state title