• 13 region "championship games" to be held this week

    By: GHSF Daily


    Until 1990, when the GHSA expanded the state playoffs to two teams from each region, it was common for regions to hold two rounds of playoffs after the regular season with a true region championship. Those days are gone, but there are 13 games this week in which the winner is the region champion.

    Class AAAAAA

    Alcovy-Lovejoy (R2)

    Etowah-Lassiter (R5)

    Class AAAAA

    Mays-Tucker (R6)

    Flowery Branch-Gainesville (R8)

    Class AAAA

    Burke Co.-Wayne Co. (R3)

    Marist-Caver, Atlanta (R6)

    Dalton-Gilmer (R7)

    Class AAA

    Cartersville-Ringgold (R5)

    Class AA

    Bowdon-Heard County (R5)

    GAC-Lovett (R6)

    Class A

    Mitchell Co.-Seminole Co. (R1)

    Calvary Day-Johnson Co. (R3)

    ELCA-Landmark Christian (R5)

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    13 region "championship games" to be held this week