Georgia finishes No. 5 in playoff rankings, will face No. 7 Baylor in Sugar Bowl

Georgia finishes No. 5 in playoff rankings, will face No. 7 Baylor in Sugar Bowl

Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm (11) works against LSU during the first half of the Southeastern Conference championship NCAA college football game, Saturday, Dec. 7, 2019, in Atlanta. (AP Photo/John Amis)

ATLANTA — As expected with a loss in the SEC Championship, the University of Georgia will not compete in the College Football Playoff.

The selection committee unveiled its final playoff field Sunday afternoon and the Dawgs did not make the top four.

Georgia finished No. 5 in the College Football Playoff rankings and will face No. 7 Baylor in the Sugar Bowl on New Year's Day at 7:45 p.m.

Content Continues Below

The playoff committee chairman Rob Mullens said there was a lot of conversation between the 5-10 rankings but Georgia's three wins over top 25 teams held up for the committee.

LSU, who defeated Georgia 37-10 in the SEC Championship, earned the top seed in the playoff and will take on No. 4 Oklahoma. They will face off in Atlanta at the Peach Bowl on Saturday Dec. 28 at 4 p.m.

Ohio State, who defeated Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship, earned the No. 2 seed and will face No. 3 Clemson. Both teams will travel to Glendale, Ariz. for the Fiesta Bowl on Saturday Dec. 28 at 8 p.m.

The Fiesta Bowl matchup will include two metro Atlanta quarterbacks: Justin Fields, who transferred from Georgia to Ohio State, and Trevor Lawrence, who led Clemson to a national championship.

LSU, Ohio State and Clemson are all undefeated, while Oklahoma is 12-1. All four won their conference championships.

Here are the rest of the New Year's Six Bowls:

  • Sugar Bowl: No. 5 Georgia vs. No. 7 Baylor
  • Rose Bowl: No. 6 Oregon vs. 8 Wisconsin
  • Orange Bowl: No. 9 Florida vs. No. 24 Virginia
  • Cotton Bowl: No. 10 Penn State vs. No. 17 Memphis


  1. LSU
  2. Ohio State
  3. Clemson
  4. Oklahoma
  5. Georgia
  6. Oregon
  7. Baylor
  8. Wisconsin
  9. Florida
  10. Penn State
  11. Utah
  12. Auburn
  13. Alabama
  14. Michigan
  15. Notre Dame
  16. Iowa
  17. Memphis
  18. Minnesota
  19. Boise State
  20. Appalachian State
  21. Cincinnati
  22. USC
  23. Navy
  24. Virginia
  25. Oklahoma State