Children as old as 12, and even 13, may find themselves back in car booster seats under new legislation signed into law by Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee.
The new law updates children’s car seat regulations, requiring all children under 4 feet, 9 inches tall to ride in car booster seats.
According to House Bill 1012, children are required to sit in booster seats in vehicles “until the vehicle lap and shoulder seat belts fit properly, typically when the child is between the ages of eight and twelve years of age, as recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics, or must be properly secured with the motor vehicle's safety belt properly adjusted and fastened around the child's body.”
Did you know that car seats have expiration dates and usually need to be replaced after a crash? Contact the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office for more information, and if you need a seat, check out Target’s Trade-In event!https://t.co/yXSlTX6PDd pic.twitter.com/nUqhb9tdLM— KansasDOT (@DriveSafeKansas) April 23, 2019
The new law also requires all children under 13 to ride in the back seat and requires children under 2 to ride in rear-facing car seats.
“Children aged 2 to 4 can be forward-facing in a car seat until they reach the specifications for a booster seat,” according to the new law.
People in violation of the law can be ticketed.
#DYK: 3 out of 4 car seats are not used or installed correctly? Help us change this statistic & keep children safe on the road by becoming a certified car seat technician. Sign up for a class in May and join our dedicated community of techs!https://t.co/TCW9J2V2e7 pic.twitter.com/uCCZCvS1Ct— Safe Kids Worldwide (@safekids) April 15, 2019
- EXCLUSIVE: President Trump talks 1-on-1 with Channel 2
- Police: Body believed to be missing Illinois 5-year-old, parents charged
- Fulton County wants to help you buy a house
© 2019 Cox Media Group.