ATHENS, Ga. — Athens-Clarke County commissioners unanimously passed an ordinance that requires masks to be worn in public. The ordinance goes into effect at 8 a.m. the day after the mayor signs it.
This comes a week after Savannah became the first city in Georgia to make masks mandatory. Those who violate the ordinance could face fines anywhere from $25 to $100.
There are exceptions to the ordinance:
- In personal vehicles; religious establishments
- When a person is alone in enclosed spaces or only with other household members;
- During outdoor physical activity, provided the active person maintains a minimum of 6 feet
- While drinking, eating, or smoking
- When wearing a face covering causes or aggravates a health condition
- When wearing a face covering would prevent the receipt of personal services
- When a person is 10 years of age or younger
East Point officials also approved mask requirements for the city, according to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
Gov. Brian Kemp held a conference call with Georgia mayors and county commissioners this afternoon. Kemp has said several times he has not considered issuing a statewide mask order at this time.
“We don’t need a mandate to have Georgians do the right thing. But we do need to build strong public support,” Kemp said. “Let’s work together with a unified voice to remind Georgians what’s effective and important in this fight.”
© 2021 © 2020 Cox Media Group