• Georgia, Auburn split top awards on AP All-SEC football team

    ATLANTA (AP) - After meeting in the Southeastern Conference championship game, Georgia and Auburn split the top awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team released Monday.

    Auburn running back Kerryon Johnson was picked as the offensive player of the year, while Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith was selected as the top defensive player. Smith was MVP of the title game, coming up with two fumble recoveries in the Bulldogs' 28-7 victory .

    Georgia's Kirby Smart got the nod as coach of the year after leading his team to the College Football Playoff in just his second season between the hedges . Auburn quarterback Jarrett Stidham, a transfer from Baylor, and Georgia freshman quarterback Jake Fromm shared the award for newcomer of the year.

    Alabama, which also claimed a spot in the four-team national playoff despite failing to win the SEC West , led the way with eight players voted to the first team.


    For more AP college football coverage: www.collegefootball.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_Top25

    Next Up:

  • Headline Goes Here

    Georgia, Auburn split top awards on AP All-SEC football team

  • Headline Goes Here

    Charles CJ Junior, former UGA wide receiver, dies at 57

  • Headline Goes Here

    Hall of Fame coach Holtz settles lawsuit with Daily Beast

  • Headline Goes Here

    LSU Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon dies at age 80

  • Headline Goes Here

    SEC visionary: Former Commissioner Mike Slive dies at 77