Proposal to phase out 12 DeKalb School facilities


DCSD to Hold Public Hearings for Phasing Out of Instructional Facilities In accordance with 10-year plan, 12 schools will be decommissioned

 Feb. 5, 2013 - In accordance with SPLOST IV and the 2011 [

]10-year master facility plan, the DeKalb County School District proposes to phase-out 12 instructional facilities over the next five years: Austin Elementary Facility, Avondale High Facility, Clifton Elementary Facility, DESA/Terry Mill Facility, Fernbank Elementary Facility, Meadowview Elementary Facility, Midway Elementary Facility, Ronald McNair Middle Facility, Pleasantdale Elementary Facility,  Rockbridge Elementary Facility, Smoke Rise Elementary Facility and Wadsworth Elementary Facility. These schools will be replaced by the construction of new facilities and repurposing existing facilities in the out years.

 Public hearings will be held from 6:30 p.m. until 8 p.m. on Feb. 19 and Feb. 26 at the DCSD Administrative and Instructional Complex, 1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd., Stone Mountain.

 Any attendance line adjustments for any receiving schools and their adjacent schools in order to accommodate the relocated students within each school's capacity limits will be discussed the year prior to phase out. Fernbank Elementary is presently scheduled to occupy Avondale Middle during the construction period.